Where Everybody Knows Your Name

Ok, so yet again it has been a while since I posted on my own blog. Life and all that. I mean, making your way in the world today takes everything you got.

But, getting away from all your troubles sure can help a lot.

Hopefully if you’ve read this far you’ve cottoned on to the fact I am making several references to the intro to olde time comedy Cheers.

CBS Drama have been re-running the Boston based show, which made Ted Danson and Woody Harrelson stars, and I admit to falling in love with the show all over again.

The chance to start again from the beginning allowing me to appreciate the show even more now I am a little older, wiser, more cynical even. It’s kinda nice to be able to enjoy a comedy show which doesn’t need to resort to piss or fart jokes to be funny. It harks back to a time when comedy shows were ‘clean’ but also funny.

And yes I know how old that makes me sound.

I’m not sure if it is the characters, the ‘familiar’ setting, the strange ‘innocency’ of it all and how it seems to hark back to a simpler stage in the comedy timeline (before things had to get all edgy). Maybe it’s the mixture of one liners and more subtle jokes that makes it great. If I am honest it’s probably just a perfect storm of all of those factors which make the show so endearing to me – and many others.

Either way, it’s great to be able to revisit a place where everyone knows your name again.

About Rob

Software engineer by day, Elite League Media man by night, Rob also blogs about cricket for One Stump Short, hockey for In Goal Magazine and video games for Outpost Delta as well as hosting the One Stump Short Podcast.

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Old School, TV & Film and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

